Education in the Amazon Region

Accesible PDF image
Jun 2024
The amazon region extends over eight countries: Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname, and Venezuela. Almost 36 million inhabitants, one third of them under 18 years of age, currently live in its 7 million km2. All this area has similar geographic, cultural, and environmental features, but also a common challenge. The Amazon urgently needs a new development model that allows its population to thrive socioeconomically while protecting the forest. Educational investment stands at the basis of this model as a fundamental process at all stages of life.